Choices You Can Make

Salt cured side meat from pastured pork, home made biscuit and gravy, my girls's eggs and our tomatoes.

Salt cured side meat from pastured pork, home made biscuit and gravy, my girls eggs and our tomatoes.

I actually rarely buy organic food. Yes, I know, sacrilege. It isn’t that I don’t believe organic is better for you, I do. I just think the organic label is not the only indicator of healthy food.

My number one priorities are buying local and growing as much as we can. Not everyone can do that, and if you cannot, then buying organic is your best choice.

I think it is so important to support local farmers and food producers, and if you tell them you want pastured meat, and pesticide free fruits and veggies, you can find suppliers who agree with you. Sometimes you just have to ask.

That said, I will argue with you that if you are growing your own, there is no reason not to use totally organic methods. The idea that you don’t have to kill every bug and you don’t have to use chemical fertilizers is an obstacle lots of folks have trouble getting past, but truly, those things don’t get you more food in the long run. In fact, in the long run, if we don’t start changing the way food is grown, there may be less food for everyone.

I posted the photo, above, of my breakfast as a yummy illustration. That plate was 75 per cent locally grown. Only the milk had an organic label, but mostly, everything else was organically produced. There was a time when everything on that plate would have been grocery store food. You don’t have to change everything at once, just change what you can.

Fred and I consider ourselves incredibly privileged. We have enough space to grow. We live close to farmers and meat producers. We have our girls. We have enough income to buy better quality food when we have to.

It may be harder for you. Do what you can. If all you can add to the plate is a tomato, do that. And don’t let the perfect be the enemy of the pretty damn good.

This entry was posted in Conversations on the Porch and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Choices You Can Make

  1. aleighrea says:

    I love this post. I try to buy as much local food as I am able since I failed miserably in attempting to garden in containers on my deck. Organic isn’t always in my price range with a large family to feed, but we purchase when possible. I have several wonderful local resources that have gotten me started with an abundance of produce for canning and preserving, so I figure I can work on my education there while I am waiting on my chance to buy land and grow for myself. Thinking I may try my hand at an indoor herb garden in the meantime?

    Like

  2. dseagraves says:

    I am a big believer in doing the best you can with what you have. You are wise to start with making the changes that are possible.

    Like

  3. Lisa Dye says:

    I LOVE your comment “And don’t let the perfect be the enemy of the pretty darn good”. I can beat myself up all I want but that doesn’t change the fact that not everything is possible. If all I can take are baby steps, well that’s okay as long as I continue to walk forward.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment